2001: A Space Odyssey

Author: Arthur C. Clarke
Year of publication: 1968
Plot summary: A monolith is sent down upon the primitive apes of Earth, enabling our continued evolution. Milleniums later, a space shuttle is sent to Saturn to investigate the possibility of aliens. Who are they and what do they want?

The only reason why I read this to begin with was because I've seen the movie thrice and still don't understand jack shit about it, so I wanted some concrete answers. The book actually seemed very coherent and logical and I was just beginning to wonder what the hell Kubrick had been on to be able to turn the book into what he did, when I reached the last few pages. Then I realised that not only Kubrick must've been on crack, but Clarke as well. I always appreciate a good philosophical discussion, but that wasn't one. It was... Well, whatever it was, it wasn't worth reading the entire novel just to arrive at that. Maybe some laser swords would have made it more worthwhile.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Kamilla

Att du läste boken! Filmen var ju verkligen jättekonstig och tråkig.


Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback