Freedom Writers

Director: Richard LaGravanese
Cast: Hilary Swank, April Hernandez, Imelda Staunton
Plot otline: Erin Gruwell takes on a freshman English class, trying to make them see there's something more beyond the gangs and the violence of the suburbs.

I have to admit that I actually didn't know this was based on true events until the end, and so I sat there thinking "Oh my God, this is so cliché", "As if she would really be able to turn them around" and other equally cynical thoughts. I had to take them all ack at the end. But, even when I still thought it was just another preachy movie, I still thought it was well done, and I had tears in my eyes on several occasions (which is to say something since I very rarely even get damp in my eyes). There are still some things that bother me (like Erin's ignorance to the fact that her marriage was in a crisis, or the teacher stereotypes crawling all over the place) but they are really just minor disturbances. I liked it, quite a lot actually.

 
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0463998/

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback