Pride and Prejudice

Author: Jane Austen
Year of publication: 1813
Plot summary: When Elizabeth Bennet and Mr Darcy first meet, they do not take a liking to each other; rather the opposite, actually. But will their feelings change when they learn more about one another?

I'm sorry, Jenny, but I can't like this as much as you do. Actually I'm not very moved by it at all. I don't think there's much of a plot besides the main characters getting together, and the roughly 380 pages before that happens just seem like an effort to drag it out. I didn't find the old-fashioned language and etiquette charming as I  had thought I would, either, but rather annoying and tedious to read. Though I have to admit, the last 20 pages made it seem worth the effort of reading the book anyway, because it was such a happy ending, and I'm a sucker for happy endings. I might still give Sense and Sensibility a shot before I completely diz Austen, but P&P didn't make an impression on me. 

Kommentarer
Postat av: Mrs Darcy

I am absolutely outraged by this statement!

I shall consult with my husband and arrange your assassination within a fortnight. Sleep with one eye open!

2008-08-11 @ 12:40:08

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback