Stardust

Author: Neil Gaiman
Year of publication: 1999
Plot summary: Tristran wants to find a fallen star for his true love, but is about to learn a lot of things about love and other matters on his journey to find it and bring it back.

You might want to sit down for this one: I actually liked the movie better. I thought the characterisation wasn't as strong in the book (don't even ask me how that is possible), the plot not as engaging, the settings not very well described. Maybe my expectations on this book were too high after having read Good Omens and loving it, but I can honestly say I didn't think I'd be this disappointed. I remember thinking while I watched the movie "Oh, I'll enjoy reading that, I bet it'll be more detailed/you'll understand it better/there'll be more of a twist to a certain joke/whatever". And it wasn't. And you didn't. And there wasn't.
Now, this doesn't mean the book sucked, don't interpret it as that. Just that it didn't meet my expectations; not what I expected from a book that was the base for such a high-quality movie, and not what I expected from Neil Gaiman. If you want to read his best works, try Good Omens or Neverwhere (which I haven't read yet but am getting to) instead. And watch the movie.


Kommentarer
Postat av: johanna

du har så rätt lina, den är inspirerad av flickan i Schindler's list i alla fall :)

Postat av: johanna

ja visst gör hon!!

2008-11-02 @ 18:18:11
URL: http://kohanna.blogg.se/
Postat av: Mikaela

jag köpte boken för ett bra tag sedan för att det var neil gaiman (fantastiske neil gaiman). sen råkade jag se filmen med samma namn men kopplade inte att den var baserad på boken (som jag inte läst) förrän jag läste det på imdb. då ville jag inte läsa boken längre för filmen var inte speciellt bra.

2008-11-26 @ 00:10:22
Postat av: Lina

nej, och du missade inget heller, jag tyckte i alla fall att filmen var bra så jag kan ju tänka mig vad du skulle tycka om boken :P

2008-11-30 @ 14:48:17
URL: http://baver.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback