The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

Author: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Year of publication: 1892
Plot summary: This is a compilation of numerous Sherlock adventures.

They're too short! My disappointment was tangible when I realised that each mystery barely amounts to 30 pages. What is up with that? Yes, it's fascinating to follow the reasoning behind Holmes's deductions, but I'm left behind when he reaches the conclusions of the cases and then the culprit is caught and the adventure is over. Perhaps I'm too accustomed to the long and sometimes tedious mysteries of Marple and Poirot, but that would also mean that I prefer them more. I did not dislike this book; if I did, I wouldn't complain about wanting the episodes to be longer. But I feel the need to state that in most cases, less is more, and the reader should be given enough space to figure things out on his/her own, but in some (such as this) a little help along the way is necessary.  

Kommentarer
Postat av: K

Tack för den fina kommentaren, men witty och proffsig var kanske att ta i?

Postat av: johanna

ah jag blev nästan rädd själv :P

2008-10-07 @ 20:47:05
URL: http://kohanna.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback